Random Thoughts – It’s a Beautiful Day

I realized this morning that my phone is much like my life, all over the place.  In terms of music and audio, there’s a wide range to choose from.  I’ve got music of all genre’s, Joe Rogan and John Batchelor podcasts, religious lectures, beats and songs I’ve made, samples I’ve yet to use and even a series of Malcom X speeches.

During my formative years I primarily listened to hip-hop music.  The first albums I purchased on my own were a Tribe Called Quest’s ‘Midnight Marauders’, The Geto Boys’ ‘We can’t be Stopped’, and Souls of Mischief’s ’93 til Infinity’.  Throughout the rest of the nineties into the 2000’s I was a bonafide “hip-hop head”.  I was a fan of everybody from MC Eiht to Killah Priest, from Wu Tang to the Dogg Pound, from Gravediggaz to Outkast.  Of course there was Nas, Dre, Biggie, Snoop, Jay-Z, Mobb Deep, Onyx, DMX, the Lox, 50 Cent, Devin the Dude….just to name a few.

With that said, I missed a lot of great music…non hip-hop music specifically.  So, I find myself in a weird place where I’m “appreciating” music that I heard when I was younger, but dismissed at the time because I didn’t allow myself to appreciate it.  I love hip-hop, but the thing about it is that the older I get, the less I can relate to the things I hear – to the music itself.  I won’t descend down some socio-economic-cultural rabbit hole, but the fact remains, as I get older my tastes have shifted slightly.  I still think Nas is the greatest lyricist of my generation.  I think guys like Kendrick, Drake, J. Cole and others are great artists.  I just find myself gravitating towards thoughts, ideas and music that I can relate to.

So this morning, as my phone and car cast there Bluetooth magic, U2’s ‘A beautiful day’ came on.

How appropriate.  Like I said before, my life is all over the place.  In a real way, I’m starting from a place adjacent to scratch.  I’m getting divorced, and trying to get my life together as it moves at the speed of now.  Relationships are changing, mostly because of me.  The future is as uncertain as it’s ever been and I’ve no clue what things will look like a week, a month, or a year from now.  The only thing I really have is my will and my values, and the ability to choose my outlook – positivity or negativity.  That’s why this song is so appropriate.  Despite what’s going on, we can choose to make it a beautiful day.  There’s so much in this world and in this life that hold beauty, even in the face of the most daunting challenges.  Make it a beautiful day…

Peace

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

