Random Thoughts – Curtis, Aaron and Maya

Curtis Mayfield – The Makings of You

One of the things I do, rather frequently because I’m a production nerd, is pull out my magnifying glass and try to figure out where some of my favorite songs pulled samples from.  The other day I was listening to the ‘The Joy’ from the ‘Watch the Throne’ album.  Pete Rock produced the beat, which is absolutely filthy.  I’m not sure how many chops he used.  Now that I’ve found the source, I could probably figure that out. He definitely sped up the sample and accentuated the bass, with that said, I might actually like the original better…

Aaron Hernandez

Yesterday I read a great article about Aaron Hernandez’s recent acquittal in the shooting deaths of Daniel de Abreu and Safiro Furtado in Boston in 2012.  Hernandez, who was already serving a life sentence for the murder of Odin Lloyd, was said to be in good spirits during and after the verdict.  And, it was expected that he and his law team would be exploring the idea of appealing the Odin Lloyd verdict.

This morning I read the news that Hernandez was found dead in his prison cell, apparently hanging himself with his bed sheets.  Clearly, Hernandez was a troubled individual.  I find Hernandez’s story to be profoundly tragic, but sadly not too uncommon if not for the fact that Hernandez was a promising young NFL star who arguably could’ve been remembered as one of the top 2-3 players at his position…ever.  Not to mention the three people Hernandez has been accused of murdering.  Obviously, that should never be forgotten….

I don’t want to get to deep into the psychology of guy like Hernandez, only to say that I recognize it. Some times in life we must stop, reassess and make tough changes in our lives.  Again, I didn’t know Aaron Hernandez but I’m fairly certain he had the opportunity to make those adjustments in his life and for whatever reason it didn’t happen.  We are meant to evolve as people, far too many of us get caught up in a condition and a mentality that doesn’t keep pace with reality.

Silly Me…

I thought I came up with a quote last.  I was standing on my balcony decompressing and destressing…feeling generally shitted upon.  That’s when it popped into my head…

“If you’re getting shitted on…make fertilizer!”

I immediately fired up the old hand held google machine and while no one has quite worded it that way, it was not an original thought….

I did stumble upon this quote from Maya Angelou…

“You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them. Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud. Do not complain. Make every effort to change things you do not like. If you cannot make a change, change the way you have been thinking. You might find a new solution.”

Peace 

One thought on “Random Thoughts – Curtis, Aaron and Maya

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

