Things That Make Me Smile – The Powerful JRE and Jocko Willink

“Joe Rogan is literally saving my life…seriously…I believe that…”

That’s a statement that I made to a friend earlier this week.  I was not smiling, and didn’t intend the statement to be a joke, or even a mild exaggeration.  I meant it.  My friend, another Rogan listener, nodded in agreement.

As I’ve stated on this blog before, I’m a huge Joe Rogan fan.  I re-discovered Joe about a year or two ago, but over the course of the last 12 months, the concepts, idea’s and guests that Joe has had on his show have helped change the way I see things, and approach people and situations.  I finally feel as though I’ve found myself, and I attribute a lot of that to the 10 hours or so a week I spend listening to Joe talk to Sam Harris about mindfulness and how the brain works; Jordan Peterson talk about Society; Eddie Bravo and Alex Jones talk about interplanetary child molesters and the Flat Earth; bow hunting; ultra-marathons; working out; weed and DMT; float tanks; Neil Degrass  Tyson talk about the cosmos; Leah Remini and Ron Miscavige talk about Scientology; Guy Ritchie talk about making movies and the art of the pocket square; and all of the comedians…and all of the MMA guys.  I love it.

As a matter of fact, I now listen to podcasts more than music…and the majority of the podcasts I listen to…Joe introduced me to, including the “Jocko Podcast” with Jocko Willink and Echo Charles.  Jocko Willink may be THE baddest MFer on this flat earth we all call home.  An excellent story teller, Jocko Willink is a 20 year Navy Seal, BJJ black belt, business owner, and author.  Jocko’s podcast is quickly becoming my second favorite podcast.  Jocko Willink is what I want my inner voice to sound like…

This type of approach or philosophy may not be for everyone.  And, there are certainly problems and issues that arise where this type of philosophy isn’t applicable.  Personally, I’ve given up on stressing and chasing shit I can’t control, so it’s highly applicable to me.  I control my reactions to situations, even if I’m not 100 percent in control of the situation, I control how I respond – which is ultimately what matters most – not WHAT happens but WHAT you do with it…..GOOD!

Quote of the Day….for me at least 🙂

“Comparison is the thief of joy” – Teddy Roosevelt

…heard it on the Joe Rogan podcast this morning…so true!

Peace

One thought on “Things That Make Me Smile – The Powerful JRE and Jocko Willink

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

